The PGH Symphony, Steve Hackman, Brahms + Radiohead Collide for an Intricate Mash-up of Sound

Published On June 11, 2015 | By Hannah Gloeckl | Giveaways
feature pso fuse 3

Photo Creds: Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

With a goal to break down the barriers between classical and modern music, the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra will partner with the 2015-2016 in-residence conductor, Steve Hackman, to bring FUSE@PSO to life at Heinz Hall on June 24.

During the first edition of the early evening concert series, PSO and Hackman will present various mash-ups of Brahms and Radiohead, including Brahms’ First Symphony with Radiohead’s “OK Computer”; Brahms’ Tragic Overture with Radiohead’s “Street Spirit”; and an orchestral version of Radiohead’s “Idioteque.” PSO is also joined by three vocalists who will help to develop the connection between compositions through a three-part harmony.

FUSE@PSO is not Hackman’s first experience in conducting classical and modern mash-ups. His credentials include serving as the music director of the “Mash-Up” series at the Colorado Music Festival, and previously, as the co-creative director of the Happy Hour at the Symphony Series with the Indianapolis Symphony. He is also the creative director of music brand :Stereo Hideout:, which aims to continue creative collaboration between classics and modern music genres.

The first edition of FUSE@PSO takes place on Wednesday, June 24, at 6:30PM. Attendees can also enjoy pre-show jams, happy hour drink specials, and food in the Heinz Hafeature pso fuse 1ll Summer Garden beforehand, starting at 5PM. Need a ride to the concert? PSO is partnering with UBER to give attendees their first ride free for up to $25 in fares by using their special promo code: PSO2015.

Additional dates for FUSE@PSO include Beethoven + Coldplay on October 7, and unannounced shows on January 27, 2016, and March 9, 2016. Tickets ($25) can be purchased on the website, or enter to win two free ones for the upcoming show from our giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *